Wireless Christmas lights may become a reality!

Wireless power transfer via strongly coupled magnetic resonances.(RESEARCH ARTICLES)(Author abstract). Andre Kurs, Aristeidis Karalis, Robert Moffatt, J.D. Joannopoulos, Peter Fisher and Marin Soljacic. Science 317.5834 (July 6, 2007): p83(4).

This is bloody tremendous. I remember once, many years ago, my father commenting that whoever could invent a wireless christmas light would make their fortune. I’m sure I’m not the only one who thought exploiting resonance was one way to do this. Looks as though this team has done it!

5 Comments »

  1. Pam said

    Where do I buy these wireless Christmas lights–are they on the market yet? While we’re at it –how about wirelss lamps– it is very difficult in an older home to rewire everything.

  2. ac12 said

    As far as I know there are none on the market yet. The article I cited above is basic research – I imagine commercial applications are a few years off.

  3. Tina said

    I think they should come up with wireless lights for the villeges that go under the christmas tree. It would look so much nicer and be alot safer. I feel with the technology we have now somene should come up with them if so they’d be rich..

  4. Randy Kreisel said

    These folks are selling an entire “wireless” Christmas tree.
    I’d rather be able to buy just the lights and transmitters. I love the 7.5 ft. tree I have but it’s a real pain to string the lights every year.

    Wireless Christmas Tree

  5. Armin said

    under http://www.lumix.de you find the wirless candles for x-mas !!!!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

