A python convert

Last week I met with my research supervisor. I told him I was toying with the idea of writing a script to automatically extract the data from my results folder, but I think it will take too long to develop.

So, back to the spreadsheet I went. Cut, paste, cut, paste. Damn, I thought. There are biologists who can script better than you!

I’ve looked at Python briefly on many occasions, but on Saturday I had one of those eureka coding sessions where everything just works.

Automated report on a directory full of folders full of results? No problem. Extract program parameters from text files – easier done than said. Spit out HTML – are you kidding? The only question is whether to use a featured HTML object creation module, or just print the text.

Not only has python been easy to get into, it’s clear that there is a lot of depth – this is my kind of scripting language.

Leave a Reply

