The real power of version control

Having a time machine means you can be utterly ruthless. From time to time I’m overcome by obsessive urges not to delete old lines that have long since been commented out, just in case, at some unspecified time in the future, I need to see how I implemented what I decided was no longer needed.

A bit like keeping that old t-shirt you haven’t worn in 2 years, just in case.

Svn saves me from having to actually confront my obsessive behaviour, through the knowledge that the past is still accessible.

Leave a Reply

